What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration granted; Findings and Order of April 25, 2025 rescinded; case returned to trial level for further proceedings
Petition for Reconsideration granted; Findings and Order of April 25, 2025 rescinded; case returned to trial level for further proceedings
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
The record was insufficient to determine whether the post-termination defense applied or whether an exception under section 5412 applied, so the case was remanded for further proceedings.
From the decision · page 4(Lab. Code, § 3600(10), bold added.)2 Therefore, defendant held the initial burden to establish its "post-termination defense" to
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Defendant met initial burden to show claim was filed after termination and injury occurred before termination.
Favours Defendant prevailed
This established the applicability of the post-termination defense unless an exception applied.
From the decision · page 5Although no findings of fact were issued by the WCJ regarding whether defendant met its initial burden of proof to establish the post-termination defense, we are persuaded that defendant did meet their burden of proof that the application for adjudication in this matter was filed after applicant's date of termination, and that applicant's claim is for an injury occurring while employed for defendant prior to the date of termination.
No findings on whether exceptions to post-termination defense applied, including section 5412 date of injury exception.
Favours neutral
Lack of findings prevented meaningful review, requiring remand for further proceedings.
From the decision · page 5There were also no findings of fact issued by the WCJ regarding whether or not lien claimant, standing in the shoes of applicant, met its burden of proof to establish whether or not any of the exceptions to the post-termination defense applied in this case, including the most obviously relevant exception in this matter under subdivision (10)(D), i.e., that the section 5412 date of injury in this cumulative trauma injury case post-dated the date of termination notice. Although the WCJ identified this exception in the Report as an issue raised by lien claimant on reconsideration, the WCJ did not comment on the actual section 5412 date of injury. (Report, pp. 3-4.)
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
The medical-legal report prepared by Dr. Mirzaians was found to be conclusory and did not support a cumulative trauma injury.
The WCJ found the medical-legal report by Dr. Mirzaians conclusory and not supportive of cumulative trauma injury, affecting the post-termination defense issue.
From the decision · page 7Petitioner did not call the applicant as a witness, and there is a conflict between what the applicant is reporting to Dr. Mirzaians and what the defense witness reported. Specifically, that the applicant had symptoms in 2017, went to see a doctor, whose name she couldn't recall and no medical reports were obtained from, and the defense witness' credible testimony that the applicant had not reported symptoms or injuries prior to her lay off. Further, the medical legal report prepared by Dr. Mirzaians is conclusory and does not support a cumulative trauma injury.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
South Coast Framing, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2015) 61 Cal.4th 291
Applicant bears the burden of proof to establish injury arose out of and in the course of employment under Labor Code section 3600.
The burden of proof was discussed in relation to the post-termination defense issue.
From the decision · page 3Applicant bears the burden of proof to establish that their injury arose out of and in the course of employment pursuant to section 3600. (South Coast Framing, Inc. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (2015) 61 Cal.4th 291, 297 [80 Cal.Comp.Cases 489].) Whether an employee's injury arose out of and in the course of his employment is a question of fact to be determined based on the circumstances presented in each case. (Id. at p. 296.) Although the applicant bears the initial burden, the determination of compensability "is to be liberally construed in favor of awarding benefits." (Maher v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1983) 33 Cal.3d 729, 732-733 [48 Cal.Comp.Cases 326], italics in the original, citing Lab. Code, § 3202.) Lien claimant stands in
Labor Code section 3600(a)(10)
Post-termination defense under Labor Code section 3600(a)(10) bars compensation for claims filed after termination for injuries occurring before termination unless exceptions apply.
The defense and its exceptions were analyzed in the decision.
From the decision · page 4(Lab. Code, § 3600(10), bold added.)2 Therefore, defendant held the initial burden to establish its "post-termination defense" to
Labor Code section 5412
Date of injury for cumulative trauma cases under Labor Code section 5412 is when employee first suffered disability and knew or should have known it was caused by employment.
The date of injury determination was central to the post-termination defense exception analysis.
From the decision · page 5Section 5412 states that "[t]he date of injury in cases of occupational diseases or cumulative injuries is that date upon which the employee first suffered disability therefrom and either knew, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence should have known, that such disability was caused by his present or prior employment." (Lab. Code, § 5412.) Thus, determination of a section 5412 "date of injury" is a two-part analysis: 1) when did the employee first suffer a compensability disability from a cumulative trauma injury; and, 2) when did the employee know, or in the exercise of reasonable diligence should have known that the compensable disability was caused by his or her employment. (See State Comp. Ins. Fund v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (Rodarte) (2004) 119 Cal.App.4th 998 [69 Cal.Comp.Cases 579].)
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Conflict between applicant's report to Dr. Mirzaians and defense witness testimony about prior injury reporting
From the decision · page 7Petitioner did not call the applicant as a witness, and there is a conflict between what the applicant is reporting to Dr. Mirzaians and what the defense witness reported. Specifically, that the applicant had symptoms in 2017, went to see a doctor, whose name she couldn't recall and no medical reports were obtained from, and the defense witness' credible testimony that the applicant had not reported symptoms or injuries prior to her lay off. Further, the medical legal report prepared by Dr. Mirzaians is conclusory and does not support a cumulative trauma injury.
Testimony of defendant's HR director that no injury report was received prior to termination
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.