What the panel ordered
Petition for Reconsideration granted; final decision after reconsideration deferred pending further review of merits and entire record.
Applicant seeks reconsideration of the May 21, 2025 Findings and Order issued by the WCJ, which found the application for SIBTF benefits untimely filed and ordered applicant to take nothing.
What was disputed, and how it came out
Each issue the panel decided, with the reasoning it gave. An outcome is what this panel did on this record — not a rule, and not a prediction.
Applicant was represented by counsel and should have reasonably known about eligibility for SIBTF benefits before the five-year deadline, but the claim was filed almost ten years after injury. However, the Appeals Board found the record was not properly developed on this issue and granted reconsideration to further study the facts.
From the decision · page 3Applicant filed an Application for Adjudication of Claim for date of injury of 5/25/12 through 5/28/13 to the back, bilateral lower extremities, neck, headaches, bilateral upper extremities, and nervous system. Application for Adjudication of Clam, EAMS Doc. ID 49568478. Applicant settled his case by way of Stipulation with Request for Award on 1/23/18 awarding permanent disability of 48% after apportionment. Joint Exhibit V. The settlement was based upon AME, Dr. Richard Woods. It was noted in Dr. Woods report that either in 2011 or 2012, Applicant had sinus surgery; in July of 2016, Applicant had left shoulder surgery on a non-industrial basis. Applicant was also diagnosed with hypertension, hypoglycemia, high cholesterol, anxiety, depression, sleep apnea, and diabetes. Dr. Woods also noted Applicant's bilateral knee condition was non-industrial. Joint Exhibit X.
The facts that decided it
What the panel treated as outcome-determinative, and which side it favoured.
Applicant was represented by counsel at the time of settlement and should have reasonably known about eligibility for SIBTF benefits before the five-year deadline.
Favours Defendant prevailed
This fact supports the conclusion that the claim was untimely filed but also justifies further development of the record on applicant's knowledge.
From the decision · page 3At the time Applicant settled his claim, Applicant was represented by counsel and should have reasonably known that there was a likelihood of entitlement to SIBTF benefits, which would have been before the expiration of five years from the date of injury. Instead, Applicant filed his claim against SIBTF on December 28, 2022, ten years after the date of injury. Application for Subsequent Injuries Fund Benefits, EAMS Doc ID 44443804.
Record was not properly developed on whether applicant knew or reasonably should have known about eligibility for SIBTF benefits.
Favours Applicant prevailed
This led the Appeals Board to grant reconsideration to allow further study and a just decision.
From the decision · page 7Based on our review, we are not persuaded that the record is properly developed on the issue of whether applicant knew or reasonably should have known that there was a substantial likelihood he would qualify for SIBTF benefits. The Appeals Board has the discretionary authority to order development of the record when appropriate to provide due process or fully adjudicate the issues consistent with due process. (See San Bernardino Community Hosp. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (McKernan) (1999) 74 Cal.App.4th 928 [64 Cal.Comp.Cases 986]; Tyler v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1997) 56 Cal.App.4th 389 [62 Cal.Comp.Cases 924]; McClune v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1998) 62 Cal.App.4th 1117, 1121§ 1122 [63 Cal.Comp.Cases 261, 264-265].)
What the panel did with the medical opinions
The role the physician served, and the weight the opinion carried. Physicians are named here as the decision names them; we do not score them.
Provided medical basis for permanent disability rating and noted prior non-industrial conditions and surgeries relevant to the claim.
Dr. Woods' report formed the basis for the permanent disability award and was referenced in the discussion of the timeliness issue.
From the decision · page 3Applicant filed an Application for Adjudication of Claim for date of injury of 5/25/12 through 5/28/13 to the back, bilateral lower extremities, neck, headaches, bilateral upper extremities, and nervous system. Application for Adjudication of Clam, EAMS Doc. ID 49568478. Applicant settled his case by way of Stipulation with Request for Award on 1/23/18 awarding permanent disability of 48% after apportionment. Joint Exhibit V. The settlement was based upon AME, Dr. Richard Woods. It was noted in Dr. Woods report that either in 2011 or 2012, Applicant had sinus surgery; in July of 2016, Applicant had left shoulder surgery on a non-industrial basis. Applicant was also diagnosed with hypertension, hypoglycemia, high cholesterol, anxiety, depression, sleep apnea, and diabetes. Dr. Woods also noted Applicant's bilateral knee condition was non-industrial. Joint Exhibit X.
The rules the panel named
Authorities as the decision cited them, with how this panel applied each one.
The limitation period to file a SIBTF claim is five years from the date of injury if the applicant knew or reasonably should have known about eligibility; otherwise, it is a reasonable time after the applicant learns of probable liability (Talcott and Adams cases).
Applied to determine timeliness of SIBTF claim based on applicant's knowledge and representation by counsel.
What proof carried it
The evidence the panel weighed, by kind.
Applicant was represented by counsel at the time of settlement and should have reasonably known about eligibility for SIBTF benefits.
From the decision · page 3At the time Applicant settled his claim, Applicant was represented by counsel and should have reasonably known that there was a likelihood of entitlement to SIBTF benefits, which would have been before the expiration of five years from the date of injury. Instead, Applicant filed his claim against SIBTF on December 28, 2022, ten years after the date of injury. Application for Subsequent Injuries Fund Benefits, EAMS Doc ID 44443804.
Record was not properly developed on whether applicant knew or reasonably should have known about eligibility for SIBTF benefits, leading to grant of reconsideration for further development.
From the decision · page 7Based on our review, we are not persuaded that the record is properly developed on the issue of whether applicant knew or reasonably should have known that there was a substantial likelihood he would qualify for SIBTF benefits. The Appeals Board has the discretionary authority to order development of the record when appropriate to provide due process or fully adjudicate the issues consistent with due process. (See San Bernardino Community Hosp. v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (McKernan) (1999) 74 Cal.App.4th 928 [64 Cal.Comp.Cases 986]; Tyler v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1997) 56 Cal.App.4th 389 [62 Cal.Comp.Cases 924]; McClune v. Workers' Comp. Appeals Bd. (1998) 62 Cal.App.4th 1117, 1121§ 1122 [63 Cal.Comp.Cases 261, 264-265].)
The same issues, filtered across the whole corpus — or paste your own facts and let the search rank by factor match.
About this page
- A published decision of the California Workers' Compensation Appeals Board, taken apart by what it turned on. The Board publishes the decision itself; this page adds the extraction and quotes the passage behind every claim.
- The injured worker is not named here, and the case caption is not printed. Physicians appear as the decision names them, because a medical opinion is an act in a public proceeding.
- Issues, outcomes and weights were extracted by AI and released only where the source passage checked. Read the official decision before relying on anything here. Not legal advice.
- If you are named in this decision and want this page removed, write to privacy@similarcase.com.